Home > daily > you will do it and you will like it, dammit

you will do it and you will like it, dammit

I am in full on fool myself mode here. Since I am in exile in SC, I have all of my and Brian’s music on a hard drive and finally figured out how to load it into my Itunes (actually, he told me – I didn’t figure anything out). Brian has over a month’s worth of music and I have about 20 minutes, mostly consisting of Fergie songs. For a while I thought my songs weren’t loading in and then I realized that I just literally have 1/1000th of the music he has…anyway, it took me an hour and a half to make a Houston Marathon playlist with a second little playlist of music that makes me feel good to listen to on the plane. I’m not going quite as far as to say it’s music I want to hear if the plane goes down, but I did just to happen to call most of my loved ones today…just in case.

It’s not that I am a firm believer that something bad will happen; it is that I think if I take every precaution and throw it out there into the universe as many times as possible, it will not happen. So, at 11:11am this morning when I looked at the clock, I wished that I would have a good [fun] time in the marathon…and-not-die-in-a-plane-crash. Am I the only person who makes a wish on the clock like that (2:22, 3:33, etc) and then always tries to jam in a second wish? Usually I wish for something and then tack on something about not dying so that I am not on my deathbed thinking, “WHY DID YOU NOT WISH TO DRIVE TO THE BI-LO WITHOUT GETTING HIT BY A SEMI-TRUCK, YOU DIPSTICK?!” Not sure if that qualifies as superstition, paranoia, or something else entirely.

Also contributing to my positive mental attitude is drinking some Michelob Ultra with the hopes of falling asleep sometime before midnight tonight. My flight is at 5:30AM and as you might surmise with my recounting of absolutely no long runs for the past couple months, it’s not a time of day I’ve seen in a while. The gas station attendant totally tried to poo poo my out of state license. She was going to sell it to me, changed her mind, and then got the manager to come over and okay it. I was like, woman, do you see these fine lines and wrinkles? Do you think this is a freaking sting operation? There is a line of five people behind me. I am 28 years old. Give me the mother loving light beer and let me get out of here because my reheated frozen pizza in my crappy apartment is getting cold.

Perhaps this is also a good time to admit that today I was cruising around being kind of bored/lonely and I thought, hmm, I kind of like it here. [screeching tires] What? There is absolutely nothing to do, but I also never feel like I should be doing something else. I don’t feel rushed. There are not zillions of college students everywhere. I kind of like driving down Irby Street every day and seeing the same weirdos, waving at the lady dressed as a blue M&M, homeless black dude with super white beard riding a bike, mental man who is always speed walking with his mouth open. Today there was someone dressed as a dalmatian outside of a vet’s office. Never been to a place that loves to employ people dressed up in ridiculous outfits to wave at traffic like Florence, SC.

Okay, time to pack. See you in the future with my tales of triumph, woe, misery, and various unsavory characters in the southern USA.

  1. proudpatriot07
    January 30, 2011 at 12:22 am | #1

    Good luck tomorrow! You will do awesome, seriously! Although I realize this is late so you might not see it until you’ve actually ran, but anyway…

    We also have blue M&M on the West side of town and sometimes there is a giant Tater Tot outside of our Sonic- love them!

  2. January 31, 2011 at 1:54 pm | #2

    I love this post. I smiled as I sympathized all the way through. I think change can be good sometimes! You actually give a really compelling reason to like BFE. Or a place where you don’t know a lot of people. Sometimes you need a break.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

